change · College life · friendship · Life

Embracing Life’s Little Moments, One Picture at a Time

IMG_1285

I’ve been taking a lot of pictures lately. I mean of pretty much everything. A few weeks ago I was home from college on break and it was then that I realized that I haven’t done a very good job of documenting my senior year of college.

I know we hear a lot about stopping to just enjoy life and not worrying so much about capturing it in photos, to just be present in the moment instead. While I definitely do agree with that, I also don’t think there’s anything wrong with snapping a quick picture to remember some things, and needless to say, I’ve been taking a whole lot of pictures the past few weeks.

I guess I just want to remember everything, you know? I want to remember moments and experiences and the small, simple details of daily life.

I don’t want to forget.IMG_1278

I don’t want to forget sitting with my grandma in the living room with the dog in his spot on the couch. I don’t want to forget laughing and baking with my mom. I don’t want to forget the late night dance parties and the fits of laughter shared with my roommate. I don’t want to forget the little joys I find in these days and drinking coffee by the window in my room.

I don’t want to forget what it was like to be a college student, to live with my best friends and see them every day.  I don’t want to forget what it’s like to be home from college on breaks with my family. Most of all, I don’t want to forget the adventures with the people I love.

If there’s anything I’ve been reminded of lately, it’s that life is short. Time is not something we should take for granted. I just want to embrace every moment I can and remember the good moments with the people I don’t want to forget.

I’m reminded that my grandma is getting older, and I’m reminded that after graduating from college in a few months, I will never share a room with my best friend again. I realize that the many, many things I take for granted could change at any moment while a lot of things will inevitably be changing in a few months.

It is times like these, when everything is about to change, that we realize how good we have it. We see just how great everything is that we are about to lose now that it’s almost over.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We look back at all the moments, the people, all of the days and the afternoons and late nights, the concerts we went to and the trips we took, the memories we made. And we just want to take all of it and hold onto it forever. We want time to stand still, just for a moment, to slow down so we can take it all in and hold onto it all a little bit longer. We realize how important it is to cherish all of these moments and to truly live in them while we can.

So we hold onto the moments we have. We live in the now and embrace what we have and who we have around us. We live in the music and the laughter and  the small, tiny glimpses of joy in everyday life.

We take in the sun pouring in through the windows and the meals shared together. We hold onto the conversations over coffee cups and the warm embraces of our loved ones. We memorize the way it feels to be with the person we love and how perfectly their hand feels in our own.

We hold onto the feelings of hope and joy and the exhilarating awe of what it feels like to be alive.

As I move through the last few months of college, I am reminded that change is coming. Life as I have known it for the past four years will soon be ending, and things will no longer look the same after the day that I cross that stage and receive my diploma.  So here I am, capturing life’s precious moments, one picture at a time, trying to remember every last snippet of the people, the experiences, the memories, and the moments I don’t ever want to forget.

 

Leave a Reply

