Uncategorized

Life’s Little Victories

Adulthood: A time in one’s life that, when encountered for the first few years, is kind of exciting and pretty darn terrifying and stressful all at the same time. A time when one has no earthly idea what they are doing and some days would rather hide under the covers and revert back to childhood when we had no real responsibility and had no idea how hard being an adult would actually be

I’ve determined that when it comes to easing my way into adulthood, maybe it’s best to go about it one step at a time, one tiny, little victory at a time.

That being said, I will admit that my one little victory of the week was driving myself to a doctor’s office somewhere near my college that I’ve never been to to get my blood taken (I’m probably a little late in accomplishing this little victory- you have probably driven yourself to your own doctor’s appointments before you were 21, Β but hey I’m getting there)

Yesterday was just an all-around day of overwhelming feelings about being an adult and questions about the future and yes, many tears were shed. It was just one of those days where everything comes at you all at once. I think maybe some days it’s okay to celebrate the tiny, little victories. Yesterday I went to work and drove to get a blood test done and went to all of my classes and did my homework and survived the day, and I think that’s all that matters sometimes. Even though sometimes it feels like there’s so many things to learn and so many things to do to prepare myself for the future, I think it’s necessary to slow down and just take things one day at a time.Β Do what you need to do today and accomplish those little victories, one step at a time.

Maybe big steps and accomplishments aren’t always regular occurrences, but it’s the small steps and little victories along the way that help us get there. I can’t prepare myself for the future without taking the small steps and learning one thing at a time. It’s a gradual process. Easing into adulthood has not in any way been easy, but I’m learning, one step at a time.

Even if those steps are wobbly and unsure, messy and hard. The small steps are progress. Progress to the bigger, better victories. Even if I can’t see it yet.

So wherever you are, if you’re having one of those days, keep on walking and celebrate your little victories, because eventually they will turnΒ into the bigger and better ones.

Leave a Reply

